Rule Number one with online dating

Posted: February 15, 2012 in the game

A few friends of mine have been asking me for tips for getting dates from online dating sites.  And honestly, I can say with 100% assurance that a good picture was the biggest difference maker with me.  Around August 2011, I was out at a concert with a friend of mine.  One of these small social networking sites had a photographer there taking pictures.  A few days later, I went on the social networking site and saved my photo.  I liked the photo so much that I put it on my okcupid profile.  My results literally skyrocketed to maybe getting a date or two every couple of months to juggling 3 or 4 during the week.  I didn’t do a spreadsheet or anything to track ratios, but I was getting random “you’re handsome!” openers from women whereas beforehand I could barely get conversations flowing.  I’ve probably had more dates (more lays? debatable.  I’ve had a few good runs that rival right now) than I’ve ever had in my life.  It’s one thing to talk about outcome independence when dealing with women, but it’s a whole different story when it’s actually occurring in my head mentally that I’ll have another shot to get laid and start a casual relationship with another attractive girl the next day.

Okcupid even has studies about camera types and attractiveness.  So, if you’re a guy looking to do better with online dating, get a photographer with a DSLR or use your own.  It’s that important.  Women online are more shallow than they are in real life, there’s all sorts of studies that indicate that.    Just like a guy who wears his worst outfit to the club when he wants to pick up girls, it’s shooting yourself in the foot if you don’t have the best photos of yourself you can possibly take on whatever dating sites that you frequent.

Also, keep it simple and do about 1-3 pics.  I’d rather have one good pic than 3 pics where one is really good and the other one sucks.

 

Leave a Reply

